SACMM abstract design
Welcome to SACMM image

Garry T. Cole, Ph.D.

Molecular studies of fungal virulence mechanisms; vaccine development; animal models of systemic fungal diseases; fungal morphogenesis and ultrastructure
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email:Garry.Cole@utsa.edu


Duane Russell Hospenthal, MD, PhD

Study of antifungal activity of newer drugs against common nosocomial, as well as rare and emerging fungi.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: duane.hospenthal@amedd.army.mil

David Kadosh, Ph.D.

Control of filamentous growth and virulence in the major fungal pathogen Candida albicans; identification and characterization of novel C. albicans virulence factors; transcriptional regulation; C. albicans genomics.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: kadosh@uthscsa.edu


Samuel A. Lee, MD

Increases in the number of cases of opportunistic fungal infections in immunocompromised patient populations have occurred over the last two decades.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: lees7@uthscsa.edu

Jose Lopez-Ribot, PharmD, PhD

Candida albicans cellular and molecular biology, especially cell wall proteins and mannoproteins. Adhesion of C. albicans to host cells and tissues. Antibody response during candidiasis and search for protective antibodies. Molecular mechanisms responsible for fluconazole resistance. C. albicans biofilm life-style. Novel approaches to the diagnosis, prevention and therapy of candidiasis, including vaccine development.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: Jose.LopezRibot@utsa.edu

Jan Patterson, M.D.

Molecular epidemiology of nosocomial pathogens, Mechanisms of antimicrobial resistance in Enterococcus sp., DNA typing techniques.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: pattersonj@uthscsa.edu


Thomas F. Patterson, M.D.

Major research interest is in the diagnosis and treatment of systemic fungal diseases.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: patterson@uthscsa.edu


sacmm
Stephen P. Saville

The principal focus of research in our laboratory is on the opportunistic fungus Candida albicans and in particular the role that morphogenetic and associated changes play in the virulence of the organism.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: stephen.saville@utsa.edu

Deanna A. Sutton

The research interests of the Fungus Testing Laboratory encompass two broad arms. The first area of interest includes the evaluation of antifungal agents. The second arm of our research involves being actively engaged in promoting accurate taxonomy, nomenclature, and classification of pathogenic fungi.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: suttond@uthscsa.edu


Spencer Walker Redding, D.D.S

Research: track the epidemiology of oral Candida in head and neck radiation patients receiving long term fluconazole therapy.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: redding@uthscsa.edu


Nathan P. Wiederhold, Pharm.D.

Increases in the number of cases of opportunistic fungal infections in immunocompromised patient populations have occurred over the last two decades.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: wiederholdn@uthscsa.edu


Brian Wickes

My laboratory is interested in the biology and molecular biology of medically important fungi.
Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: wickes@uthscsa.edu

Floyd L. Wormley Jr., Ph.D.

Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
 

Chih-Ko Yeh, B.D.S., Ph.D.


Profile and Contact Information Research Laboratory
Email: yeh@uthscsa.edu

 
Health Science Center seal

Links provided from Health Science Center pages to other web sites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites. Best viewed at 1024x768 resolution.